Item added to your cart.

Moonchild Sanelly
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 10, 2022

Moonchild Sanelly - real name Sanelisiwe Twisha - announces her long-awaited second album. The trailblazing South African musician signed to Transgressive Records in 2020, kicking off with diverse mini-LP Nüdes. Now, she returns to the international label with her genre-crossing second album Phases out on June 10.

Forming a sonic foundation that veers between Amapiano, Gqom, grime, pop, house and R&B while showcasing her vocal talents on more downtempo songs, Phases 19-tracks document the varying chapters of a toxic relationship and subsequent freedom. A double album, the first side is a journey through the relationship with production reflecting those different moods and aspects of her personality; the second side, meanwhile, leads into a clubbier amapiano space.

Collaboration has always been core to Moonchild’s alternate world. Since her 2015-released award-winning first album Rabulpha! put her on the global map, she has collaborated with local favourites Maphorisa, Sho Madjozi and Thandiswa Mazwai. In the years that followed, she caught the attention of a host of international superstars, leading to high-profile collaborations with artists including Wizkid, Beyonce (featuring on “MY POWER”) and Gorillaz (on “With Love To An Ex”).

Phases is a highly collaborative record, too, with production and guest features from Sad Night Dynamite (their track “Demon” is already a huge hit), Wesley Joseph, Xavier Thomas (Débruit), TOKiMONSTA, HOLLY and Aramboa. The album’s title takes on a multitude of meanings: via the range of genres covered across its runtime, the different sounds and styles that it encompasses and the personal journey that Sanelisiwe Twisha has taken to get to this point. But, for Moonchild Sanelly, it’s more literal than that: “I think that, with this album, I’ve managed to piece all the different parts of me together, because I’m known for different things in different parts of the world. I think you get to know me better with Phases - all the different sides of me.”

  1. Undumpable
  2. Demon (Moonchild Sanelly and Sad Night Dynamite)
  3. Cute (Ft. Trillary Banks)
  4. April Fool’s Day
  5. Strip Club (Ft. Ghetts)
  6. Let It Rip
  7. Over You
  8. Money Tree
  9. Favourite Regret
  10. Too Late
  11. ULi (Ft. Blxckie)
  12. Covivi
  13. Soyenza (Ft. Sir Trill)
  14. Yebo Teacher (Extended version)
  15. Chicken
  16. Jiva Juluka
  17. Bad Bitch Budget
  18. Jump
  19. Bird So Bad

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Undumpable 2:39 Buy


  2. 2 Demon 3:38 Buy


  3. 3 Cute 3:14 Buy


  4. 4 April Fool's Day (Makahambe) 1:49 Buy

    April Fool's Day (Makahambe)

  5. 5 Strip Club 3:02 Buy

    Strip Club

  6. 6 Let It Rip 2:07 Buy

    Let It Rip

  7. 7 Over You 3:23 Buy

    Over You

  8. 8 Money Tree 2:47 Buy

    Money Tree

  9. 9 Favourite Regret 4:00 Buy

    Favourite Regret

  10. 10 Too Late 3:33 Buy

    Too Late

Show All Tracks 19

Moonchild Sanelly

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences